“To love another person is to see the face of God.” – Victor Hugo

My Mom used to tell me this story from the time I was little.

There was a man who stole a loaf of bread to help his starving family and was caught and imprisoned.  He was then released, but because people were so unkind to him, he sought refuge at a church, where a kind priest took him in.  In spite of the kindness that the priest had shown this man, his hardened heart led him to steal silver candlesticks from the church.  Soon after running from the scene, the police caught him and were about to make the arrest, when the priest came out and explained to them, that the silver was a gift that he had given to the man, and that he had not stolen it from him.  With the mercy and grace that this priest had shown the man that night, he spent the rest of his life helping and giving back to others.  Little did I know at the time that this story was right out of Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables.  I have always wanted to go see the musical, and being as it is in town again, this past Sunday, my husband took me to see it.  The story is as beautiful as I remember my Mom telling it to me, and the music was breathtaking.  I literally caught myself holding my breath as each note was held and another was sung.

Leave a Reply

